2012 Edublog Nominations

Well, I’ve been wanting to post this for several days but have been caught up in other things. I also thought nominations closed November 28th, which they actually close November 26th but I’m hoping they’ll take a one day late post. And even if they don’t, this is a good exercise in sharing resources! So here are my nominations for the 2012 Edublog Awards.

Best individual hashtag: Obviously I’m going to pick the #slpeeps tag, since it has been extraordinarily influential in my own life and the lives of many other professionals. It has unified a profession across the globe and across populations with whom that the profession (SLP) works.

Best New Blog: I would have to say that Mary Huston’s Speech Adventures is my favourite new blog. The Twitter community hassled her to have a blog for years and now that she has, it has been very enriching.

Best Group Blog: I like ASHAsphere for this category. They have many different contributors and post great information on a regular basis.

Best Individual Blog: I love Aubrey Klingensmith’s blog Speechie Apps. I have often read her reviews of apps and used this information to decide if I should try one or suggest it to others when I am (frequently) asked. She even does Android app reviews, which I don’t use but I know many who do and want this information.

Best Individual Tweeter: I like @pediastaff for this category this year. Not only have they been tweeting great content for multiple professions for years, they performed a giant undertaking in funding a Social Media Learning booth at the ASHA conference this year, in order to teach others about social media and how it ca help their professional growth. Many people helped out at the booth and behind the scenes but organizing it and having the idea to do it deserves major kudos.

There are so many other great people out there but these are the categories where I felt compelled to nominate this year and just some of the people contributing to my PLN right now.

Leave a Reply

