exordium (ig-zawr-dee-uhm, ik-sawr-):

n. 1. The beginning of anything. 2. the introductory part of an oration, treatise, etc.

I’ve been meaning to start writing a blog about my career in speech-language pathology for some time, but didn’t have hadn’t made the time for it. Why start now? I’ve been using Twitter to create a professional learning network (PLN) for myself since the Spring of 2010. It has enriched my professional life tremendously. However, I have more to share than I can fit into 140 characters at a time and decided I couldn’t put off a blog any longer. Before I begin posting on what I’ve been thinking/learning about lately, allow me to tell you about who I am and how I got here.

I was going to be a doctor. I knew this from a fairly early age. I had even chosen the university where I wanted to study medicine because I liked their approach to teaching it. Then I did a co-op in OR & Recovery and, while I found the surgeries fascinating, I realized one crucial fact about doctors: they have long hours and difficulties keeping personal commitments because they are so dedicated to their professions. I had the same passion as them, but wanted to have time for my future family. When I stumbled across speech-language pathology I realized it was a perfect fit for me and started my undergrad with a plan to become an S-LP and the rest is history. I had plans to work in geriatrics but ended up in pediatrics and haven’t looked back.

Like my tag-line suggests, I’m kind of geeky and I’m OK with that. I used to care what people thought but now I don’t and I’ve embraced my inner geek. Allow me to list some (but not all) of my credentials:
– I grew up watching Dr Who, Star Trek, Start Wars, etc.
– I enjoyed linguistics in university. Linguistic anthropology was my minor. I took History of the English Language for fun. I still read books like this fairly regularly.
– I listen to informational podcasts in the car like Radio Lab and Quirks and Quarks because I love to learn.
– I wrote a thesis in my undergrad and in grad school and I still try to keep a toe dipped in research projects whenever I can.
– I built my own computer for grad school. I could stay up all night playing video games (and frequently did).
– I love all things techy (but I don’t yet have an iPad).

Geeky interests obviously aren’t everything in my life. No one would ever accuse me of being athletic or coordinated but I’ve recently discovered that I enjoy running. I love music, dancing, and reading as well. I married a wonderful man in the teaching profession. We have a 2 year old daughter who is a joy and who gives me new perspective on child development and on working with parents in my career.

That’s just a little bit about me, hope it helps give you some perspective when/if you read my blog. I plan to make posts about once a week or so and will have my first ‘real’ post soon.

10 comments on “exordium (ig-zawr-dee-uhm, ik-sawr-):

  1. Janelle says:

    Wow! This is so awesome!
    I am going to add the pig books to my must-read list! Did I ever tell you that I collect dictionaries and reference books?

  2. Angie Ruffilli says:

    Tanya I love this idea! I’m definitely going to bookmark this and follow🙂
    By the way, I loved linguistics…does that make me a geek too? haha

    • slptanya says:

      holy cow, Angie, how did you find this so fast?? Don’t tell me you actually have kept checking Twitter?? And yes, it definitely makes you an #SLGeek!🙂

      • Angie Ruffilli says:

        I haven’t really been checking at all lately but I was busy procrastinating from writing statement letters for grad applications and decided to check my twitter account! haha I guess it’s just good timing on my part!
        p.s. do you think if I mention in my letters that I’m a speech geek they might consider me over someone who isn’t?? hahaha

  3. Pauline says:

    Congratulations on getting started with your blog, Tanya. I was interested in how you came to look into SLT/P – it is probably the reason why many investigated the profession in the first place (though probably not what keeps us hooked!). Good luck with your writing – I look forward to reading more of your work🙂

  4. mtmarySLP says:

    Great first post. I look forward to reading more.

  5. Sean Sweeney says:

    Great hearing your story! I’m excited for your future posts!

  6. SpeechieofOz says:

    Great to have another blog on SLP to read!

  7. ndnspeechmom says:

    You’re such a cunning linguist!!

    I’m geeky myself, although nobody ever believes me seeing as how I am utterly dripping in street cred. *gangsta leans*

    I collect textbooks…and enjoy flipping through them whenever i have time. I still have a recurring nightmare wherein i realize I’ve been skipping a grad school class all semester…and according to the syllabus I will now no longer keep my A.

Leave a Reply

