ASHAFit Biggest Loser

Image

DigitalBusStop.com

OK, I admit it. I fell off the wagon just a little bit completely. I did the planks (mostly) and sometimes did the pushups. I watched what I ate and exercised a lot with my bootcamp video game. I lost 15 lbs and I was feeling much stronger and fitter for sure. Then, life changed. I fell off the wagon. I haven’t really gained much back (2-3 lbs) since I fell off, but I’m not as fit, I’m not eating as healthy, and I’m no longer losing the baby weight. I’ve done some walking and biking and yoga, but I haven’t worked out properly since… May?

It’s time to get back on the wagon and I think I’ve found a fun way to do it.

We’ve used #ASHAFit13 on Twitter and Facebook to encourage each other and model our exercise and good choices as extra support. Let’s keep using it for that but let’s go a step further. I need more to keep myself motivated and thinking beyond today’s ice cream. I was talking about it with my friend, Mary Huston, and we came up with an idea.

If you also want to lose weight, consider joining a little game Mary and I are launching: our ASHAFit biggest loser challenge.

When does it start/end?

It will start Monday, August 5th, or whenever you feel like starting (though you’ll want to start as close to that date as possible to win). The winner is whoever lost the most weight body fat percentage by Monday, November 11th (the Monday before the ASHA conference in Chicago).  That’s 14 weeks so remember, it’s a slow race meant to change your lifestyle to a healthier one for keeps!

What do you have to do?

There are 2 ways you can play.

A)   Play for a fabulous prize – you must submit to me, by email (slptanya at gmail dot com), a picture of your weight as you stand on the scale with the date you are standing on it. This way I will know 1) it’s your real weight and 2) it’s current. You can use the day’s paper or take a screenshot with your device so there’s a time stamp on it. I will NOT share your weight with ANYONE. EVER. Only your overall loss. You’ll obviously have to submit a similar picture (on the same scale) at the very end as well.

B)   Play for fame only – You can just report what you’ve lost over time and play along but you cannot qualify for the prize without proof you’ve lost that weight through the photo. So if you’re uncomfortable with me knowing your weight, I get it. You can still try to beat us all and you can claim a title for your efforts (and more importantly, a healthier you!).  Consider taking the time stamped pic on Monday anyhow, just in case you change your mind later.

Whether playing for $ or fame, you are welcome to post how much you’ve lost every Monday as motivation for yourself and others, but this is not required.

 What can you win?

The title of losing the most in 14 weeks, for starters. A healthier lifestyle that should be a real habit by November, for more. And Mary and I are both contributing $25 to the prize for a total of $50.

Yup – soft, ethereal, internet transferred cash. You could choose to make it a gift card or dinner/drinks at ASHA or whatever, if you prefer. I don’t think $50 is too much as a Starbucks gift card, either ;)

What if you’re not going to ASHA or don’t even know what ASHA is (e.g. not an SLP or AUD)?

No problem. Anyone and everyone is welcome to play!

What if I (Tanya)win?

Well, I know I’m running this thing, but I’d like a shot at winning. It’s kind of the whole point of doing it. I highly doubt I can beat Mary, but I’m gonna give it a shot. So if I win, I’ll have a 3rd party from the Twitter community who’s not involved in the game look at my before and after weight pictures to prove I won. Let me know if you don’t think that’s enough (and remember that I can only actually win half the prize haha).

Who’s in??? Let me know in the comments if you’re in or if I forgot to outline any important details.

14 comments on “ASHAFit Biggest Loser

  1. I’ll throw in $25 if you win. Will get on it :).

  2. MtmarySLP says:

    Love this! I can’t wait to see the new healthier US in November.

  3. Sharon Walker says:

    I’m in as well! I’ll be at ASHA and would like my $50 toward our #slpeeps meal please. ;)
    Thanks for doing this Tanya and Mary. It’s just the motivation I need

  4. Cindy says:

    Ok I need motivation and this may be it (hopefully). I just need a plan as I am not good at making one. I’m going to ASHA too. So I’ll dust off my scale and hope it works. Here we go!

  5. swmslo says:

    Just a suggestion: it should be biggest weight loss percentage, not biggest weight loss total. The more weight you have on you, the easier it is to lose.. Also, it might be appropriate for some people to lose 50 lbs, but not for others, depending on what their starting weight is.

    Good luck :)

    • slptanya says:

      Hmmmm.. that’s a good idea. Then it levels the playing field. I like that.

      Wow, I highly doubt anyone would lose 50 lbs in 14 weeks – should be 14-20 lbs at most for healthy loss but I suppose you never know.

      OK, if people think this is fine, I’m cool with it! Thanks Stephanie – my work out hero still :)

  6. swmslo says:

    Ha yeah.. 50 was just an arbitrary number. My number one suggestion for dropping the lbs (in addition to diet change) is run! Just get out there and run.. Run until you need to walk, then run again. Minimum 30 minutes a day… 60 if you have the time. Running is free and you can do it anywhere, any time!

  7. […] So…Tanya came up with a new challenge…or a continued challenge. The ASHAFIt Biggest Loser. You can read the details here. […]

  8. pamslp says:

    This is what I do – just write whatever comes into your head – what you want to say and then you can refine it later (LOVE word processing!! You younguns probably never had to white-out typed papers, lol). In this kind of forum, I write like I’m talking to my friends; a conversation. If it’s more formal, start with an anecdote, joke, or a related story/news story to introduce your topic. Look for writing resources online – there are some great books out there. Google the topic, then look for reviews on the book you’re interested in. Good luck!

    • slptanya says:

      LOL, thanks for the comment, Pam – and I did have to type and use white out on a typewriter in high school!!

      That comment, however, was spam. I didn’t catch it and delete it quickly enough – sorry.

Leave a Reply

