Mind your SLPs and Qs

Today’s post is brought to you by the word:

canvass [kan-vuhs] /ˈkænvəs/
verb (used with object)
1. to solicit votes, subscriptions, opinions, or the like.
2. to examine carefully; investigate by inquiry; discuss; debate.

verb (used without object)
3. to solicit votes, opinions, or the like.

noun
4. a soliciting of votes, orders, or the like.
5. a campaign for election to government office.
6. close inspection; scrutiny.
______________________________________________________________

Want to know more about using social media like Twitter for professional information and collaboration? See the top right sidebar for links to the entire blog series —->

I ran a little experiment earlier in the summer, just to see what would happen. I posed a general question in the attempt to instigate some daily discussions surrounding SLP affairs. It worked well enough, given that I didn’t give anyone any instructions per se, that I plan to run it more regularly starting now. I’m calling it #SLPsnQs (thank you @zealousidler for the inspiration).

Why am I starting now? Well, tomorrow is the first day of school in my province. I figure a lot of people see Labour Day as the last true hurrah of summer, regardless of working in schools or not, so it seemed as good a time to start as any.

How does it work?

I will post a question to Twitter (nearly) every day with the hashtag #SLPsnQs. Anyone and everyone is welcome to respond. You don’t have to reply to me, but you do need to include #SLPsnQs in your tweet (so that it will show up in the search feed). I will capture a week’s worth of questions and responses in a chirpstory like this. Some weeks may have themes, some will be completely random or inspired by someone else. My hope is to incite discussion and reflection amongst SLPs on a more regular and also more casual basis than #slpchat.

If you have a question you would like me to pose as a part of #SLPsnQs, please DM me on Twitter! I would love to have more minds working for inspiration. However, I ask that only I post the #SLPsnQs questions, since it gets cluttered and confusing if there is more than one question or topic of discussion in a given day. Don’t forget that we still have the #SLpeeps hashtag if you are looking to pose a specific question to the SLP community!

So, watch Twitter tomorrow for the first official #SLPsnQs question of the day and please participate!

PS: Sorry I’ve been so absent. I certainly took a long hiatus from the blog. I am back now and have several posts in various stages of completeness so expect more soon!

 

Update May 2012: Here are links to several (not all) of the previous #SLPsnQs – a week at a time. Note that there is not always one question per day.

Mentors and their advice

Who do you want to see on twitter?

Youtube and therapy

Why #SLPeeps tweet and tips for new Tweeters

Workload and decisions

Data collection and management

Technology in Practice

How did you become an SLP?

Fave tx resource, trailblazing as an SLP, and mentors

Learning: this year and past years

Is figurative language important to teach? (also lang and cognitive skills)

Most versatile goals and therapy resources with a smattering of other stuff

 

4 comments on “Mind your SLPs and Qs

  1. Bronwyn Hemsley says:

    great job moderating questions, Tanya!

  2. Awesome, girl!! Sounds like fun!!

  3. Barb says:

    I love how you are always thinking of ways to have meaningful dialogue online.

  4. Matt Parr says:

    Brilliant

Leave a Reply

